Lea Park Residents' Association

Caring for our Community

Please welcome our new Committee members


Following a decline in membership and several long-standing committee members reaching the end of their period in office, there was a very real possibility that the organisation would have to be dissolved, but a well-attended meeting at Barley Hill School on Wednesday, 19th July saw the election of both a new committee and several residents’ representatives to bring new blood and fresh ideas to the scene.
The incoming Chair, taking over from Elaine Kidd, is Mark Goodall. Judith Edwards and Chris Horton between them assume the role of Joint Vice-Chair, and David Currie is  Treasurer. Karl Braisher is the new Media Secretary. Ken Lewis has kindly agreed to remain as Membership Secretary until a replacement is found. Former Vice-Chair (and Thame’s well-known ‘Head Womble’) Joe Chapman becomes a Residents’ Representative, and in this role is joined by Samantha Bellia, Graham Reed and Bridget Trueman. Simon Heap generously agreed to stay on as Secretary, and was elected unopposed.
The new committee have a number of exciting projects to get under way, but chief among these is LPRA’s continued opposition to the proposed Moorend Lane development, which if approved will have a detrimental effect on the skate park, Thame Football Club, the Queen Elizabeth play area, and not least Lea Park itself, with a significant increase in the volume of traffic on the already busy Tythrop Way northern bypass.